News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/12/2017 6:07:32 PM to 1/2/2018 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: December 12, 2017

[ARCHIVED] City honors employees for years of service

Gary Macy

 More than 230 collective years of service were recognized Saturday evening at the City of Independence’s annual employee service awards banquet. City leaders, co-workers, retirees, commissioners and board members gathered at the Independence Civic Center to honor the following employees and their milestones, introduced by Mayor Fred Meier:

   35 years - Gary Macy, Public Service Worker III in the Street Department.

   30 years - David Cowan, Director of Safety and Code Enforcement.

   25 years - Tammy Freeman, Administrative Aid/Dispatch Supervisor.

   20 years - Judith Nelson, Police Department Clerk.

   15 years - April Nutt, Director of the Independence Housing Authority; Kenneth Farmer, Wastewater Treatment Plant Chief Operator; Rebecca Hamilton, Municipal Court Clerk; Larry Moore, Water Treatment Plant Operator;

   10 years – Barney Ryno, Public Service Worker II in the Water/Sewer Department; Michael Brewer, Sanitation Department worker; Randall Jack, Sanitation Department worker; and Charles Benedict, Police Department Animal Control Officer and Patrolman.

   Five years – Cody Shamblin, Independence Municipal Airport Manager; Jerry Tuchscherer, Independence Housing Authority employee; Jonathan Booe, Fire Department employee; and Stephen Melton, Sanitation Department worker.

   “I can’t say enough good things about the talented team we have within our organization,” said City Manager Craig Whitehead. “Their longevity is a testament to their dedication, and it’s our privilege to honor their service.”

   Also during the evening, Police Chief Jerry Harrison and Public Works Director Mike Passauer were recognized for their recent graduation of the Kansas Certified Manager Program (CPM).

   This year’s recognition event was planned by the city’s 2017 Social Committee, chaired by Lydia Collins. Other committee members include Bridget Hammer, Christina Johnson, Jade Sherley, Don Cushing, Brad Haymaker and Jordan Drybread.

   Other highlights of the evening included a catered dinner by Brent and Dorothy Littleton, photo opportunities, after-dinner bingo and door prizes.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

2022 Consumer Confidence Report

Posted on: March 28, 2023